This year we have hired two amazing people to come and work with us over the summer. Charlotte will be here from mid-April to the end of September, and Joël will be here from mid-May until the end of August. Our summer staff are integral to the delivery of our many projects and programs, but we need your help finding them a place to live!

As you know, finding accommodation on Mayne Island can be difficult. If you have something you think would work for one or both of our summer staff please contact Rob Underhill at biologist@mayneconservancy.ca or 250-539-2535. Below are self introductions provided by our new staff.

Hi there! My name is Charlotte Matthews and I was recently offered a position with the Mayne Island Conservancy from April 13 – September 25 and am looking for residence on the island during this period of time. I am a kind and respectful individual, who enjoys reading, illustrating and various outdoor activities, such as, kayaking, birding, hiking and swimming. I am a very clean person and enjoy tidying. I am a pescatarian and like to cook, so it would be ideal for me to have a space (shared or personal) to do that. I grew up in Ladner, BC and visited the gulf islands with my family throughout my childhood, which sparked my love for the islands and the ocean. I appreciate your consideration.

Hi! I’m Joël. Originally from Montreal, I moved to BC 9 years ago and zigzagged my way through school and the province. I’ve now graduated and decided to finally settle around Victoria. I’m very excited to spend a summer discovering Mayne Island! I decided to accept a position with the Mayne Island Conservancy to start gaining experience in conservation work and protected area management and to discover more of the Gulf Islands.  This will be the start of a hopefully successful career in that field.

I’m quite an easy housemate to live with. Quiet, clean, respectful. When I’m home, I can often be a little bit of an introvert and enjoy recharging from my day alone, reading, walking/biking around, watching shows/movies. I also love sharing dinners, meeting new people, learning new skills, so I don’t think I’m a total hermit!

Happy to help around the house especially if it involves gardening. Pretty handy with tools and basic repairs as well.


0 Comments

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published.